Explorer Blog

Explorer Scouts are the senior section of the scouting family, starting from 13½ years through to 18. Our local unit is very active – giving these young people plenty of opportunity to be involved in adventure, learning, community and personal development in a fun and relaxed environment specially designed to support them.
Explorer Units are often led by a District rather than by individual groups.

Sahara Unit is part of 5th Warrington East (1st Oughtrington) and meets at Oughtrington Community Centre. They meet from 8pm til 10pm on Thursday evenings and have links with 5th Warrington (Oughtrington), 17th Warrington (3rd Lymm) and 18th Warrington (4th Lymm).

The Antarctic Unit are part of Warrington East District and links mainly with Scouts from Lymm, Oughtrington, Thelwall and Grappenhall. This unit also meets on Thursday evening from 8pm til 10pm at either: Lymm (17th), Thelwall (6th) or Grappenhall (25th).

When you are ready to move onto Explorers, speak to one of the scout leaders; they will give you contact details for the Explorer leaders and explain what you have to do to complete your moving on award.